E. Marie’s Turkmich

To be honest I hadn’t tried a turkey burger until last year.  I’m pretty adventurous when it comes to my food choices, but something about “Turkey Burger” screams wannabee Cheesburger, I don’t like fakes. I’m a food snob, I’m aware of this problem.

So it wasn’t until recently, I could put together a recipe that places this Turkey Burger in a league of it’s own. This is not a full recipe, I don’t make my own turkey patties. I’m not a fan of handling raw meat. I work in healthcare, some things are just too familiar.

But I have the seal of approval from my taste-testers  that this burger is certified G-O-O-D.

The real secret to my burger is this cast iron skillet with grill marks that I got from my Dad. He could be found in the kitchen cooking anything he could find with this thing. I didn’t understand it’s magic until now. I also use it to “grill” chicken breast and it does a fine job.

So here’s how to make my Turkmich. Its tasty.

  • Heat up your skillet first. I get mine HOT.
  •  Grab a vidallia onion and slice it as thick or as thin as you want. I love onions so mine is a thick slice. My breath reeks!
  •  Pull out your bun. I get these from the walmart bakery. Brush the roll lightly with butter, olive oil or water. They both leave great grill marks.
  •  So place your turkey burger on the grill. And cook one side for 5-6 minutes. Then Flip.
  • Drain off any turkey fat.
  • Add the bun and onions to the skillet and cook. Until the turkey patty is finished. Yup, It’s one big ‘ole party in that skillet and you’re invited.
  • Remove and add fresh guacamole to both sides of the bun. I use the chunky fresh guacamole from Whole Foods. Add your cooked turkey patty, cheese (I use fresh grated parmesan but queso fresco takes great with this) and Enjoy.

  • Add a side of sweet potato fries and this meal is done.

Ingredients:

Jennie –O Savory Turkey patty

Vidallia Onion

Bread Roll

Fresh Guacamole

Cheese (Queso Fresco or Fresh Parmesan)

Equipment: Iron Cast Skillet with Grill Marks

Leave a Reply

